I really loved her. Now she’s gone. A break up. We’ve gone our separate ways. I feel awful. There are so many things in my house that remind me of her. I’m going crazy! I need to get rid of half my stuff just to be normal again. What am I going to do?

I thought she was the one. I really did. I’ve been crying for the last hour and am tired of it but can’t help myself. I feel so low. I’m never going to get over her. I don’t even feel attractive, I’m a mess, I’m in a sorry state. Who’s going to take an interest in me? That’s right. Nobody. Even I know that right now, though I need to turn my life around. As hard as it seems.

I check my phone. Missed calls of my friends trying to lure me out to live again. I wipe the tears from my eyes. Inhale deeply and exhale. Let’s do this. I’m going to go online and check my inbox. A friend sent me a link to a music store. I check it out. WOW! They’ve got everything regarding oldies. I search for my favourite song: Louis Armstrong – What A Wonderful World. I play it and instantly feel nostalgia.

This is the song that played when my college buddies and I had our reunion and painted the town red. I had such a good time. I laughed so much and had so much fun, at one moment it felt like I was dreaming. We goofed around so much, even pedestrians stared at us when we walked from the hotel to the club in the city centre.

Suddenly I don’t feel so sad anymore. What great friends I have. And what fool I’ve been for ignoring them. I get up, get changed and dress to impress. Looking like the business, I take a look at the name of the music store that has all that great music. It’s called iOldie. Enough said. Cheered up and confident, I get out of my house and make my way to meet my friends who are already socializing in town. Thank to iOldies, I’m back in the game.

(11/18/13, 10:48 PM Western African Time)

